Runners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there i'm a complete newbie on this forum and just wanted to ask a question.

I did a 1.5 mile run not to long ago and completed it in 8:55 but i want to get fast what is the best and quickest way to do so? When i did that time i had never trained my teachers were very suprised. I currently weigh 70kg and 6 ft tall can anyone help?? thanks

·
Registered
129 Posts
Hi there

I used to be a PTI in the reserve forces and the 1.5 mile run you are doing is actually used for the British Army. The cut off time for soldiers is 10½ minutes for male under 30s. Therefore you are doing well with your run time. The fastest I have seen this run done was on a course in Brecon the guy did it in just under 7 minutes (but then again he was form a rather special regiment). I would suggest that you do some high intensity interval training if you would like to knock off a few seconds. That being said you are already doing well.

Cheers

Chalky

·
Registered
1 Posts
This was actually the reason I signed up to this forum - For tips on running that distance. [As the above poster says - The British Army uses it] 8:55 seems like an awesome time, let alone 7!

Chalky; So High Intensity Interval training can help with the times? Would it also help with endurance? As I am rather unfit at the moment, and after 1.2 miles I can be pretty out of breath and generally knackered! I'm keen to try anything though.

·
Registered
6,493 Posts
Batter said:
Hi there i'm a complete newbie on this forum and just wanted to ask a question.

I did a 1.5 mile run not to long ago and completed it in 8:55 but i want to get fast what is the best and quickest way to do so? When i did that time i had never trained my teachers were very suprised. I currently weigh 70kg and 6 ft tall can anyone help?? thanks
how fast do you want to get?

1.5m in 8.55 is sub 6 min/miles

·
Administrator
13,089 Posts