Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

First post on here. Hope all are well. I'm doing the Edinburgh a week sunday and it is my first attempt at a marathon. I have been training for around 6 months, although i have had weeks where i have only been for 1 run. Some weeks i do 4 or 5 runs, but i do physical job where i'm active all day and a lot of evenings i'm out quoting for jobs so sometimes i might get home at 6, then out quoting until 8 then by the time i have had something to eat it's 9 o clock. I do 10 miles fairly easy and most of my runs involve some hills / inclines - i live in Derbyshire and there are lots of hills! I have always playe football so my base fitness is fairly good. I did my longest run last saturday, 18 miles. It was boiling aswell and i ran out of water after 10 miles - schoolboy error! After i stopped i felt sick, i know it was because of the heat / lack of water. This was the only 2hour plus run i have done, do you think i will be able to complete it on the big day?

·
Registered
3,059 Posts
I know of a guy in America who trains runners from being beginners to being able to complete marathons (with the emphasis on complete, rather than race); and I think that the longest run which his runners do in their build-up is something like 18-20 miles. So it can be done. This guy has an interesting web site you might want to check out...
www.joehenderson.com

·
Premium Member
6,618 Posts
Hi Brunsy,
Edinburgh will be my first Marathon as well and I look to complete it in 4 hours 30min, if it takes longer then it takes longer :)
My longest run so far has been 18miles and this is me on target to complete the marathon. Ive been training since January and been following a training plan quite strict.

I reckon as long as you have water and maybe some energy bars you will be fine, just take your time and aim to complete the marathon and don't worry about the time.