Runners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

I only began running this summer and ran a lot in October and overused my adductor!

I applied to run a marathon in April 2008, but if the training doesn't go well I will pull out as I don't want to injure myself.

I have been resting my leg for about 2 months, although I've still been doing karate training twice a week. I need to start training again soon as I only have 4 months.

Basically my question is, is it silly to think about running a marathon considering I am a beginner and only have 4 months to train for it?!

Comments please!

Thank you!

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
Hi Jolewest :)

It's not silly at all; 4 months is plenty, just build your mileage up slowly but steadily and try not to do too much at once and injure yourself.

You want to be able to do 10 miles fairly comfortably with 1 month to go, and preferably do a couple of long runs, between 16 and 20 miles, to get a feel for them. But for now, I suggest just build up your mileage and focus on distance not speed.

You might want to download a special marathon training schedule, there are loads around.

·
Premium Member
13,089 Posts
It's a pretty big ask, but it all depends where you are at the moment! What sort of mileage had you got up to before your injury and how were you finding it? One of the problems is that despite having 4 months, it'd be unwise to come back from injury to training at the same intensity as before, you need to slowly build up.

Beginners vary massively, some will be happy to run 5 miles having done nothing since school days... some will have to work very hard to run a mile without stopping! Keep us all updated and I'm sure everyone will offer their advice & opinions to help you as much as possible.

·
Registered
6,493 Posts