Runners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday I ran 4 miles in 40 mins? It was my second day I've done that. I'm a complete beginner.

How am I doing?:embarrassed:

·
Registered
3,495 Posts
diego said:
Yesterday I ran 4 miles in 40 mins? It was my second day I've done that. I'm a complete beginner.

How am I doing?:embarrassed:
Well done Diego.

Just be careful not to do too much too soon.

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
4 miles in 40mins is a very respectable time indeed.

Like Dave says, be careful not to over do it at the beginning.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
A lot to learn

Thank you all for your comments :d

Yes, I'm looking for 'quality' but is not easy. There are a lot of things to bear in mind. For instance, I don't know how to stretch properly and for how long.

I bought a magazine yesterday, I don't have it with me now but I believe the name is "Running word" or "Runners magazine" something like that. But there is just one article for beginners and the rest is about marathons and professional expectations.

The article is about fat people trying to loss weight running. And seems to me that running is not very good for lossing weight. What do you think? I need to losse 5Kg and I don't know how I should be running!!! I'm open to suggestions here!!

By the way, 10k is 10,000 metres or 10 miles?

Thank you all for reading. :rolleyes:

Diego
Essex

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
Hi Diego,

I have lost over 2 stones in a year or so running, and before then I had tried many other things to lose weight but all had failed (more to do with my willpower I think than anything else) - stick with it and I'm sure you will see the pounds dropping off add that to the increase to your fitness and for me its a no brainer.

and 10K is about 6 miles I think.

·
Registered
180 Posts