Runners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
613 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
as i've stated before i'm new to running. i've been cycling for a few years and thats what i have focussed on mainly.
now i'm getting into the running thing, i've tested my ability and i can manage a 5k in 22 mins, with a push.
anyway , i have 4 weeks until my 1st duathlon and whilst i know there is no quick fix, anybody got any tips for a bit of improvement. my own plan was to keep up the 10 training runs but pepper them with some 800mt sprints, then have a few days off before my race and hope for the best.
my endurance is pretty good so i feel i will be ok in that department but i need some speed.

Edit:
the duathlon is 5k 30k bike then 5k.

Any advice welcome

Craig

·
Registered
16,463 Posts
You are way above me, but I have read some people saying they have trouble running after a hard cycle? Might be worth putting in some mixed sessions

·
Registered
613 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
cycling is great for base fitness but you have to put the hours/miles in. typically last winter i was doing 70 miles every sunday and 2 0r 3 pretty hard 90 minute turbo sessions in the week.
if you are near a gym that does spinning classes, try doing one of them followed by a run after. or mix it up if you live close enough, you could run to the gym, spin class then run home.

i'll be back to that this year with as much running as i can manage. i just cant make the time for the long cycling rides these days, new arrival expected soon, literally tomorrow but they come when they are ready:)

·
Registered
613 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
that would equate to an average spinning class (45 mins approx) followed by 20 odd minutes on the road running, (i could do that on a weekday evening - might give it a go)

·
Registered
613 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
it don't hurt after a few attempts believe me, it gets the heart pumping.
and if the music is good it is a great mood lifter

·