Runners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello all, I am new to running..

I am 25yo weight lifter, and am going to be doing my first half marathon.. I have no idea how to programme my training. Obviously I would like to maintain strength as best I can and cut back on my lifting volume maybe lighten the squats a bit..

Is it just a case of slowly adding in miles and allow my lifting program to take care of my strength and power. The power exercise I do is powercleans which teaches full body speed under a load and is used in most sporting endeavors, sprinting, football, rugby etc.

I am thinking of something like this:

Mon - 2mile slow pace run.

Tuesday - strength training and maybe some fast aerobic cardio.

Wednesday - 3mile slow pace

Thurs - strength training and maybe some fast aerobic cardio.

Fri - - 2mile slow pace

Sat - rest

Sun - 4 mile slow

aim to increase distance for runs and maintain strength in lifting, fast paced cardio or cross training to cover all bases..

·
Registered
4,962 Posts
I don't think your strength training will help you a great deal in a half marathon. If you are carrying a lot of muscle bulk, distance running will be more difficult for you. What you need more than anything else is build up endurance by putting in the miles. You need to build up to a point where you can comfortably run 10 or 11 miles before the race.

What kind of time do you want to aim for, or is it just about completing it?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hi there,

about 4hours, I don't carry a lot of muscle, around 12 stone, 5'9 around 14% bodyfat.. I would like to maintain some strength so dropping lifting completely would be ott for me.

A basic training day looks like atm for 3times a week:

squats 117k 3x5
bench 77k 3x5
deads 150k x5
chins - added 15k 3x6