Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm aiming to run 5k in under 20 minutes. At the moment I can run it in about 21 minutes.

I'm running about 3 or 4 times a week and am looking for some advice as to how to structure my training to get under the 20 minute mark.

Is there any benefit to running over 40 mins?
Should I be including interval training (< 2 mins) at greater than 5k pace?

Any advice much appreciated,

Thanks,

Tom

·
Registered
419 Posts
Can't help you much - I've been hovering at 21 minutes for 3 years... I did make it to 20:03 once...

But I reckon the answers to your questions are:
- there is some benefit in doing long runs - so if you have the time to do long runs then do (I do a lot of long runs and it clearly hasn't helped me)
- there is *lots* of benefit in doing interval training at greater than 5k pace - if you can find others to do this with, then do! (I don't do many interval sessions or much speed work at all... if only I did....)

·
Registered
4,962 Posts
The only thing that got me down from 21.30 in the 5k to 18.56 was long runs. I don't do any speed or interval training, but I do at least one or two 10 mile runs per week (with 2 or 3 10ks during the week). I will run a half marathon every month or so. I found this helped my 5k time, although I rarely run 5k.

·
Registered
76 Posts
You need a combination of training.

Structure:

Run day 1:- 10 min warm up jog 5min run at around 6min/mile 2 min jog easy, 4min 6min/mile 2min jog, 3min run 6m/m 2min jog 2min 6m/m 2min jog, 1min 6m/m 2min jog, 10 min jog cool down. Total 45mins

Run day 2:- 8-9 mile easy run with 2x5min pushing the pace along. Total 1 hour

Run day 3:- if you have a track... mini Bondarenko :15 min warm up then 3x1200m off 1:30 rest (starting at 6:30m/m getting faster by 5 secs each 1200m), 2x800m off 1:15 rest (getting faster by 5 secs each rep), 1x400m fast as you can. 10 min warm down jog. Total 1hr 30min (ish)