Runners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, this is my first post :eek:

Backdrop: I've been running for 18 months now, and did my first race (5k on road) 12 months ago in 24:19. I go to an athletics club twice per week and do 2.4 - 4.8k worth of sprints, lift weights twice per week, and do steady runs 2-3 times per week (on a good week that is!!). And i've also done several 2-3k races since then.

I have just recently completed the same race as i did 12 months ago (5k) in 22:25, so i managed to knock off nearlly 2mins (which i'm really happy about! :d ).

I would love to complete the same race in 12 months in sub 20 mins! (as this would put me in the top 8-9 runners in our club), and my ultimate goal is to run it sub 18 mins (as this would put me in our 'A' catagory in our club).

Question: I've heard of the term 'training cycle' before, but can't find any usefull info on the web. Plz could anyone explain this concept to me/ possible giv me a rough guide based on my profile? It would be very greatly appreciated! Thanx (btw, i currently complete 16-20 miles per week (incl 3-6 miles of 'quality' interval running))

·
Administrator
13,089 Posts
Not heard the term 'training cycle' before... though I'd be very interested to find out!

Could it be the process of having various phases of training? Like base building (endurance work), followed by strength training (hillwork etc), then at the peak of the season speed training, before having a rest period and starting over again?

*twiddles thumbs whilst waiting for someone else to answer*...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, that's what i mean - different training goals like endurance, strengh, speed ect... Was wondering if anyone knew a 5k plan for 12 months e.g. so many months/weeks doin' endurance, working up to X amount of miles/week and long run up to X?

·
Registered
348 Posts