Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to the running but have come on leaps and bounds in the last few weeks. I've just completed a 2.4 mile run non-stop and (here's the best part) at the end I felt like I could have done another half mile or so!!

This is a major achievement for me. On January 4th 2008 when I started this running lark seriously I could manage about a quarter of a mile before I had to stop.. then another quarter of a mile etc etc...

The trouble is that now I'm running further non-stop a couple of other issues have presented themselves...

Firstly, I'm getting blisters in the arch of my feet. I'm visiting a running shop in Edinburgh tomorrow (kindly supplied the info by Granty) and hoping to get this one sorted out.

Secondly (and excuse me if the image of this puts you off yer lunch) my crotch is sweating as I run and feels uncomfortable as the top of my legs rub together and my boxers and shorts get kind of tangled up. (Don't really know how better to describe it?)

I tried putting some talcum powder on the top inside of my thighs before I went out today and I think it helped a little bit but not much.

Anyone any suggestions on a solution to this? Are there specific "running grundies" that will support the Old General and also absorb sweat and prevent chafing from the top of your legs??

Again... sorry if this post has conjured up some nightmarish images... but I had to ask :embarrassed:

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
LOL - fantastic post and very delicately put !! :eek:

I've never run in Boxers, like the have some 'support' on the way around. Would suggest that you try some slightly tighter under garments that don't flap around. I did suffer with chaffing in a similiar area and I found that a liberal coating of Vaseline seemed to do the trick.

Look forward to hearing how you get on.! :p

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Granty... once again you step into the breech!