Runners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I have a quick question on goal setting. I'm a total beginner when it comes to running so for now I'll be sticking to getting my base mileage up but I am interested in knowing what is achievable.

I used to do a lot of cycling and setting goals helped considerably in keeping me motivated. In cycling a common beginner short distance goal is 30 minutes for a 10 mile time trial. Another tougher one is 25 miles in an hour. These are challenging enough to require some dedication but can be achieved by just about anybody while still keeping a life off the bike.

Are there running 5k or 10k equivalents?

Thanks,
Ivan

·
Registered
180 Posts
I'm fairly new to running but i just try and better my personal bests each time, it probably sounds obvious but thats how i do it. My pb for 5k is 26.10 and for 10k is 57.41. Ive only just started doing 10k so thats not a very good time but i'm quite pleased with it.

·
Registered
3,190 Posts
Stotty that is an exceelent time which 10K did you do?

Ivan how far are you running at the moment if you can run continously for over 30 mins I would say you are ready for your first 5K.

The beauty of running is that you can compete against yourself - setting new Personal Bests, trying to beat old ones.

·
Registered
180 Posts
I havent done a 10k race yet its just my training pb, ive only done it twice the first time i did it in 1hr 1min and 50secs so i was really pleased with todays effort. My partners saying that i'm not pushing myself by running the same circuit all the time what do you think?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the replies.