Runners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I'm new to this running lark and need some advice on how to get into a training plan.

I reasonably fit and can go for a run and comfortably complete 6 or 7 miles, but then my legs will ache for the next 2 or 3 days. How do I get beyond this phase? What is the ache in my legs? Is it lactic acid build up, or damage to muscle fibres? Am I ok to go running on aching legs, or will I risk injury?

If I wait until my legs no longer ache before running again, then the same thing happens again. I feel like I need to run more often so my legs will get used to it, but don't want to risk injury.

Advice appreciated.

·
Premium Member
13,089 Posts
Howdy!

aching legs is all part and parcel of running I'm afraid... though the more you run, the less your legs will be susceptable to aches.

You don't need to wait for all aches to completely subside before runs, but at teh same time - if the distances are causing your legs to ache it's probably because you're not yet accustomed to the distance, and by running it everyday you'll soon end up injured.

Make sure you have some decent trainers to suit your running style, and ensure a rest or easy day between hard sessions, and listen to your body if the aches get really bad - the chances are that when you're starting to risk injury, you'll feel more intense aches and the thought of going running will be a pretty dull/nasty one. ;)

I'm sure others will be able to add to these comments...

·
Registered
228 Posts
I had aching legs when I started running even though I was only run/walking (mainly running) 2.5miles. I actually found that running on the aching legs made them feel better after I'd run and stretched. By running fairly short distances 4-5 times a week the aching had pretty much stopped after a couple of weeks. Until I did my half marathon - going down stairs was a it of a challenge for a ocuple of days after that:p

·
Registered
3 Posts