Runners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Thinking of entering a 10k which is at the end of september 21st. However i don't know if i am being too optimistic. I have been running on and off for about 2 months now if that what you call it not running for long, mainly been running on the treadmill and outside occassionally. Am looking to move to outside running now i have found someone to run with. Problem is this week i have only been doing spurts of 10 minutes when at the gym last week i did manage 7k one night and 9 k another but i know its easier on a treadmill.

My question is do you think from now till the end of september i have enough time to traing properly for a 10k or not? My friend who is going to start running with me is new to running so baring that in mind is it too much to soon. Would i be able to do myself justice running a 10k considering i want to do it in less than an hour if i do it.

Any advice will be much appreciated !!

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
If you have already run a 7K and a 9K then it sounds like you will be more than prepared by the end of September.

Get outside (enjoy the nice weather) and try a few shorter runs at a slightly quicker pace than you would normally run, combine this with a few of your normal runs as well.

And ...... if you miss an hour - so what, at least you have a time to aim to beat for the next one ! :d

Happy training.

·
Premium Member
13,089 Posts
If you can run 7 or 9k on a treadmill then 10k won't be a problem :)

In terms of breaking the 1hr barrier, that very much depends on how fast you're running at the moment! How long did your 7k & 9k runs take?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4