Runners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I'm new to runner's forum and this is officially my first post! I love running and have been running consistantly for about 3 years now. I took the plunge and decided to do the 2009 london marathon running for Mencap. For the last 5 weeks I have started doing 3 runs a week, 1 speed 5k, 1 10k and 1 13 miler. I had been doing well and feeling good, I was in a 10 mile cross country race 2 weeks ago and felt I did a good time and was pleased with my performance.

Now, last week I started feeling really lethargic, but continued running and last friday I did a really fast 10k in the evening and then a 13 miler the next morning. During my long run I started to get a pain in the outer side of my left knee, I carried on and when I got home my knee was painful for the rest of the day. The next day I felt really worn out but the knee felt better. On monday I taught aerobics and felt ok, but this week has been a complete struggle for me. I didnt run on tuesday, managed to run yesterday (10k) but the knee started to hurt again. I don't know what to do, I feel really worn out and am worried about my knee. I have a 10 mile race on sunday but am thinking to skip it and have a whole week off running alltogether. I feel really crap that I didnt have the energy to run this week and know I'll be disappointed not to race on sunday, but Im worried that unless I rest the knee it will get worse. I want to continue training for the marathon and do a great time, but right now I'm scared that I've lost my motivation. Ay ideas why I feel so worn out?

Please could anyone advise me what they think I should do? any kind words of encouragement or empathy would be greatly received.

Cheers!!
C :huh:

·
Registered
4,539 Posts
hello and welcome...