Runners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, apologies if this topic has already been covered elsewhere in this forum...

I am just starting out to try running regularly (partly because my partner has been running now for about six months and I've been really impressed by how much weight he's lost and how much fitter he seems).

I cycle every other day and also swim regularly, although I've had some health problems in the last few years (M.E./chronic fatigue syndrome). I have had asthma since I was a child: it's pretty well controlled (with Becotide inhaler preventative twice a day, and Ventolin inhaler when I have an attack, which is occasionally).

I tried my first 'run' today (which was basically a mixture of running alternating with walking round the block over about 12 minutes). It was a cold morning and I quickly found myself getting painful breathing - in fact it was this that was forcing me to walk rather than muscle fatigue. I finished back at home and spent the next 20 minutes or so coughing a lot. I assume that this is partly due to the cold dry air (and no doubt traffic exhaust pollution!), but is this kind of pain on breathing common for newbie runners? And does it diminish over time? If so, what kind of time period am I looking at (weeks? months?) for having this pain/coughing after running?

I would really like to be able to run regularly, so any encouragement/advice would be appreciated. At school I was often excluded from cross country runs etc on the grounds that I was an asthmatic and would not be able to keep up... So my self-confidence about running is not that good! Also, can anyone suggest a good regime for someone like myself just starting out?

Thanks in advance for all positive feedback... :)

·
Registered
9,640 Posts
Hi SR Welcome to the forum firstly, and good for you with the running.