Runners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good afternoon!

I am fairly new to running. I started in April after completing couch to 5k and currently run around 25k a week spread over 4 days.

I've been reading up a lot about different types of running (easy/tempo etc...) and I think I have come to realise I was doing most of my runs at a very high intensity.

I enjoyed what I thought were easy run's but by the looks of my heart rate data I have not really done any easy runs at all.

In fact my difficulty now is that if I try to run within the 'easy' range of my heart according to Strava, I have to pretty much walk.

I can run my fastest 5K currently at 24:25 (4:53 pace) for reference, but in order to keep my heart under 150 on an easy run, I have to run at around 6:15k pace and even then it will climb above within about ten minutes.

My average heart rate on an all out run (24:25 5K) is 174bpm with a high of 188bpm

So my questions are:

Is this normal?

Does it even matter if my heart rate is high if it feels easy?

I have read a little about Maffeton and aerobic base training, but that seems to suggest I have to do a few months solidly at super slow paces without any higher intensity to get the benefits? Is this correct?

Can I improve my aerobic capacity by doing a couple of the super slow runs but also do a couple of higher intensity in the same week? or will this ruin the gains I made at the lower intensity?

Sorry for all the questions.

My goal's currently are to get down to 22:30 for my 5K time but not sure what the best thing to do is with easy runs. Feel like I am wasting them if not doing them properly.

Cheers

Ged

·
Registered
843 Posts
The most likely root of this is your knowledge of maximum heart rate. If you are using any kind of paper-based estimate or equation it is not good enough for finding zones. Google a way to get an estimate from actual running or a recent race.

·
Registered
5 Posts