Runners Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I've been wondering this question all my life. I'm fairly good at cycling but not very good running.

I'm 169 centimeters = 5.54461942 feet height with a very muscled/fatty legs and I believe that is the reason why I'm not good at running. Does it make sence?

After loossing some 36 pounds I weight now 11 stones 13 pounds and I bought my first running shoes because my old reebook classic don't do the work.

Anyway, I need someone to tell me whether "size" does or doesn't matter.

Thank you very much.

Diego
ESSEX

·
Registered
64 Posts
Okay, first off, being short does not matter in the slightest.

In distance running, something I've noticed as I've progressed has been that the faster you get, the shorter the runners around you are. Many of my friends and truly top athletes are decidedly short by the usual measures. Dave Mitchinson (64:20 HM), can't be much taller than you and neither is Jon Pepper (UK U20 XC champ). I'm quite routinely the tallest of the runners racing me at most races I'm at (I'm 5' 10'' btw).

Being short is viewed by many as a big advantage. Look at Bekele and Gebresellasie, they are both tiny and run 26 minutes for 10k!

What does matter is your weight to height ratio. Without (I hope) being too rude, if you continue to lose weight you will probably run faster. You clearly realise that through already losing 36 pounds (very impressive) and if you continue then you'll find running easier.

What is MUCH more important than any weight loss though is continuing to increase your training level at a reasonable rate (approx. 10%) and this will lead to the biggest gains. Running is something that is very hard at first, but the more you do it, in all honesty the easier it will get.

Keep up the good work. The "proper" running shoes will likely help (though at one point I ran in Reebok Classics myself!).

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you