Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've just picked up my new orthotics - been suffering with ITBS and a few other 'things'. I haven't run in them yet as I've been advised to spend a couple of weeks getting used to them and I'm still waiting for some of my aches and pains to settle down.

However they weren't as uncomfortable as I was expecting. What can I expect? Will my pains magically disappear - my pod did warn me that there was no guarantees and that I may experience some new aches in my shins, big toe etc as I'm getting used to them.

·
Registered
123 Posts
I've been wearing orthotics for the past four years and it took about three weeks for me to adjust into them and I never found that there was any pain in adjusting, only it felt slightly different.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Orthotics

I have worn orthotics for five years, i wore them for i hour the first day 2 hours then 3, 4 ,5 ,6 ,7 ,8, this was over a 10 day period i had 2 remedial sports massage treatments then started with a 15 min jog and increased it by 5 mins each time for 10 days when i reached 50 mins running without any side effects i know my body had accepted the orthotics. There is a chance you might feel muscles elswhere feeling different dont be alarmed at this hope this helps

·
Registered
3,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I find them really comfortable to wear but I've still got some aches from my last ITB flare up. Although I do feel as though the pain is less when I wear them and move around - just worried that I'm so desperate to get better.....I might be imagining it.

·
Registered
55 Posts
orthotics