Runners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally took the plunge and had some custom made orthotics done due to my knees.
I used them for the first time on a Tempo run the other night which was 7m inc warmup;[email protected];cool down.They seemed quite fine at first then the last couple of mile i started to get an increased pain above my ankle at the back of my leg,it seems to have eased now although a round of golf didn't help today I was wondering should i have broken them in better like wearing them for work first or should it be ok running on them straight away?

Cheers Gaz

·
Registered
12 Posts
Hi Gaz.
I'm not a doctor, but this sounds like a similar problem I had after my gait analysis when I changed to trainers with more support.
I noticed (what sounds like) similar pain.
IMO, this is probably just your soleus muscle, (which is a deeper muscle located below your calf muscles) getting used to your foot striking the ground in a slightly different way.
Personally, I would rest for a couple of days, and then gradually build up to your previous levels of training over a week or so. 7 miles seems to be fairly excessive when your leg muscles are not used to moving in this slightly new way!

·
Registered
3,059 Posts
I think that the idea of wearing them at work for a few days sounds sensible to me. If you think about it, your legs have had a lifetime of working within a certain range of movement... Now they're been asked to work in a slightly different way, which is magnified when running. So maybe a gentler "introduction" would be better?

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I didn't realised you had to wear them in :embarrassed: but now i've read the booklet that came with them, i do now :d
After putting my original insoles in my leg felt much bettter after just 1 day,i thought it was best to miss my long run though on Sunday and i'm going to resume tomorrow as it feels ok now.

Thx...lesson learned ;) Gaz

·