Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this may sound stupid and I can hear you all laghing at me, and has taken some courage to ask for help from you. Hope I'm not waisting anyones time. How can I get around running in the rain...takes my brath away and is slowly eroding my motivation. I love running (well Jogging really) I have been running for about six months and am managing to run 3 miles in 35 min. I have a full time job and most can only run in the evenings. I run Mon, Wed and Fri. I hate the gym and am affraid I will just give up which is a shame. Hope this isn't such a bad question:sick:

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
Welcome to RF.

Most of us like running in the rain...drizzle anyway...though actually stepping out to run when it is already raining is a different matter.

I wonder if you try to run faster when it is raining...hence losing your breath.

·
Registered
3,447 Posts
Hi Bish!
Don't worry - I seen stupider questions! I think its a matter of getting out and just getting used to it (especially in the UK!!!) Just try to relax and concentrate on your posture and breathing, so it doesnt get erratic - I actually find it refreshing now, especially when I am warm. I would also suggest, unless its windy, just wearing a technical top, not a t-shirt (as this will get heavy) and not a waterproof over the top as you may be over-heating (me last night!!) which is making it even more difficult. Hope that helps!

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
Hi there Bish,

Welcome to RF..

Fact is you cannot really avoid running in the rain, a majority of my club runs last winter was all in the rain, so even if you start out not running in the rain you may end up in it, as was the case with us last year.

I actually prefer running in the rain, it cools you down etc.. the real test is if you want to run three times a week and no less you will have to brave it .

You do after a while get used to it

Welcome again.

·
Registered
3 Posts