Runners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am new to the realm of HRMs. I think I need one which will monitor zones, but am not sure if everything else is just marketing froth?

I love inexpensive, but hate cheap. What are my best options please? Do I go branded, or a Decathlon own brand?

Thanks!

·
2,698 Posts
Do you use a GPS watch or smartphone currently? If so, a dual Bluetooth and ANT+ heart rate strap like the Wahoo TICKR will sync with that, and give you heart rate data both at the time, and also recorded against your activities. Having a history of your HR can be very useful when comparing your current performance to previous runs, as well as seeing where you went right/wrong in races, etc.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Do you use a GPS watch or smartphone currently? If so, a dual Bluetooth and ANT+ heart rate strap like the Wahoo TICKR will sync with that, and give you heart rate data both at the time, and also recorded against your activities. Having a history of your HR can be very useful when comparing your current performance to previous runs, as well as seeing where you went right/wrong in races, etc.
Interesting option, thanks. I imagine that there are heart rate zone apps out there with audible alarms?! Will investigate...

·
Registered
811 Posts
A HRM seems like an odd thing to want in isolation. Almost all running watches have the capability of connecting to an HRM in some form or another, and lots of them also have a built in optical HRM. They will all display current HR and zones.

A large part of the value in a HRM is being able to see your HR data correlated with pace, elevation, etc after the fact. You won't get that with a standalone thing.