Runners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

I wouldn't say I was a complete beginner to running as I have been running on and off for a couple of years and actively take part in sport. It is only recently though that I have decided to take it more seriously and have drawn up training plans to abide by.

One of the things I am told about as being very important is breathing correctly - in through the nose and out through the mouth. This may be true but anyone who has ever told me this has never been able to explain why? I find it difficult to do this as I have a high VO2 max capacity and when breathing in through my nose and after a mile or two, I feel fatigued and short of breath. I do not have this problem when breathing through my mouth alone and completed 5 miles on Saturday with relative ease averaging 8min miles and having energy to continue easily.

If someone could explain the reason why this is important, what benefits it offers and if so, if there is anything I can do to make breathing like this easier.

·
Registered
264 Posts
I'd be interested in knowing why as well. I've never really bothered with it to be honest, and after a hard run when I'm struggling to keep going, I'm just happy to be breathing and not really worried about how the air is getting into my lungs.

·
Registered
3,221 Posts
It's good in theory - I find as soon as I start pushing myself I am breathing in through my mouth and my nose (and my ears!)

I guess in some ways, breathing through your nose is good because you have filters in there, which you don't have in your mouth - so for city running it may prevent toxins getting into your lungs.

I think breathing in through the nose is also related to diaphgramatic breathing techniques, but am not sure if breathing in through nose in any way increases the amount of oxygen you've got going in!

·
Premium Member
13,089 Posts