Runners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Just need some thoughts on this one. I've been suffering with ITB for a long time now! I have been to a sports injury clinic and have had 8-9 weeks from doing any running atall and only doing stretches and excersises. I have now been told to start back into running slowly so I have done two 2 mile jogs this week and I can feel the pain coming back!? I'm starting to lose hope now! This is after having had 6 weeks off before christmas for the same problem! Any thoughts on what I should do next?

·
Registered
2 Posts
I have just been diagnosed with this.I have been managing with it for approx 6-9 months and finally went to GP today as fed up with it. It started to keep me awake at night,and oh boy I need my sleep ! So time for action. I have been having physio once a month through my employer but was told by physio I needed 2-3 times a week to be beneficial.In short I have had a cortisone injection in my left side and will be resting up for next week.He said to go back and see him in a week if not better.He also informed me I have a hernia. Great ! Have done some research on line and it all points to this.He is also arranging some additional physio.
Hope this helps a bit.

·
Registered
3,190 Posts
I had this painful condition when I first started running and didn't runn at all for about 3 months. For me I had to get my biomechanics under control, which meant I was prescribed with some orthoses but these do not work for everyone. I t took a long time to reover and I had to start from scratch again using run/walk technique.

It still bothers me from time to time particularly if I've been running on lots of cambered roads or running down lots of steeps hills. There are straps you can buy but I never found they helped me and ibuprofen never seemed to touch it.