Runners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So for a long time now have been exercising at the gym and also running. I have been doing Weightwatchers as well since Jan 2008 but haven't lost any weight. I am more muscular but still have the jelly belly that just won't go unless I lose weight.

I exercise 3-5times a week, vary what I do too include swimming, gym ball, weights, walking, ski machine, rowing, cycling etc

Am new to road running so I run about three quarters in total and walk in between, today I ran/walked 5.3km.

Kinda at a loss.

Does anyone else exercise lots but not lose any weight?

:(

·
Premium Member
6,618 Posts
Welcome to the forum!
Firstly remember muscle weighs more than fat.

Im suprised you havent lost any at all though with doing all that excercise. I read somewhere that doing a diet and doing masses of excercise can cancel themselves out because you actually end up eating too much because you think that because you have done all the excercise you need more food but also because your possibly hungry before you start your metabilism may slow down so your not actually burning as much fat as you would normally.

Have you asked the people at WW why you might not be loosing weight as fast as you hoped?

Ive only started running since January, Im not on a diet but run about 3 or 4 times a week and have lost a stone. I just eat the same as I used to eat, maybe a wee bit smaller portion sizes but thats it.
I enjoy my food too much to stop and count all the calories and things in them :)

O.

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
Welcome to RF BD!

Weight will eventually drop off as long as you keep at it....in no time at all you'll be running all the way, running faster and further....just be patient!

·
Registered
70 Posts
me too!

Hi there,

Before I start- I am no expert- but...