Runners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been reading other thread discussing supplements ie protein shakes. At what sort of running distance would you recommend having one at the end of a run? I'm only a newbie and not running much distance YET however I would like to know for future reference.

Cheers Nat

·
Registered
6,493 Posts
I don't take them myself, but I guess anything upward of 15 miles?

·
Registered
16,463 Posts
That sums up the protein supplement question for me.

Trinity has signed up for an Ultra and doesn't use them!

I would guess the obvious is my attempt. Cut out the rubbish (apart from the occational bit of what you fancy), eat a balanced diet which should include enough of most things for my needs and increase the exercise levels (box ticked).

Smiler, I guess you are probably doing this for similar reasons to me; ie to lose some weight and get fitter. Definately spend a few quid on the trainers, apart from that everything else is pretty much optional.

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yep you got it in one.
Already on the weight loss train and newbie to the running. I have been eating plenty of protein today to help mend my tendonitis as well as eating lots of fruit and veg. My downfall is wine however with the new fitness plan I'm not craving it like I use to.

Shelled out for some decent trainers today and can't wait to test them out. Will see how the knee is Tuesday.

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yep you got it in one.
Already on the weight loss train and newbie to the running. I have been eating plenty of protein today to help mend my tendonitis as well as eating lots of fruit and veg. My downfall is wine however with the new fitness plan I'm not craving it like I use to.

Shelled out for some decent trainers today and can't wait to test them out. Will see how the knee is Tuesday.

·
Registered
16,463 Posts
Smiler said:
Yep you got it in one.