Runners Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been running for many years just to keep fit, but never bothered to find out the proper way to do things. I was once advised that it wasn't good to cool down too quickly after running, but someone else recently told me just the opposite. Can anyone tell me what is best. Currently I just throw on a sweatshirt and joggers when I get in and wait till I've cooled down.
Jude:rolleyes:

·
Registered
4,539 Posts
IMO, when someone says cool down i belive that they mean to strech your muscles/ settle your heart rate down at the end of your run, rather than letting your body temperature cool.

i see cooling down as a period where i continue to use the same muscles but at a lower rate... i.e. if ive been running i will then walk for 5-10mins to let my heart rate settle down again and stop my legs from cramping up.

if you are asking about body temp, my gut feeling is that it would be bad to cool too quickly... although i have nothin to back that though, the concept just feels wrong

·
Registered
516 Posts
I agree with Beasty.

Warming down is essential, but cooling down too quickly may cause a chill, or assist in tightening up the muscles and tendons.

·
Registered
693 Posts
I agree, the first time I went jogging I didnt bother cooling down properly and the next day my legs were really sore. Now after each session I walk briskly for a good ten minutes then stretch

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks everyone. Since I have a 50 metre walk up a steep hill to the house after my run I guess I'll call that my cooling down time. I've never bothered too much before, and so far in 20 years never had any adverse effects. Now in the upper age brackets I feel it may be advisable to look after myself!
Thanks again.

·
Registered
466 Posts
For me it's bringing the pace down gradually to a walk then stretching the muscles. Breathing and heart rate will come down naturally.

·