Runners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4,962 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't think this has been discussed, but what is the best running style to adopt. I have been running for 2 years now and have my own style, which is pretty much relatively short but quick strides and not lifting too high. I have never had any injures and find this is quite an easy and efficient way for me to run, but I'm wondering if it is optimal. I'm very careful not to bounce around at all and I try to make my running as low impact as possible. But is this the best way to run far and fast? I'm just interested at what other's personal style is.

My second question is about long runs. I rarely run further than 10 miles (I throw in a half marathon maybe once a month). for those of you that run 15+ miles on weekends, do you time yourself and go for good times, or do you treat this more as a way to get some distance. If so, what kind of pace to run, in comparison to your competitive pace, I mean if you are a sub 40 10k runner, or 1:30 half marathon runner when going for time, what kind of pace do you run on your long weekend runs? Also, do you change the pace/do interval training on your long runs. The reason I ask this is that I want to try and do some more distance on the weekends, but I have a tendency to go pretty fast even on my long runs, which is why I don't do a lot of mileage. Is it beneficial to do longer runs at a much slower pace than your capable of?

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
a good thread... tbh it sounds as though you have a very good technique going there and i don't think you should change it if you are having no problems... you are very fast so you must be doing something right... !