Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am new to running, can manage about a mile, but I am tired afterwards. Legs dont ache, and after a little breather after finishing the run I feel fine. Am i okay to do this every morning, or should I be leaving a day in between each run?

Thanks

·
Registered
149 Posts
Hi Steve
I started running about 12 months back, kicked off with three times every 7 days over distances up to 2k then up to about 5k and when I felt comfortable upped the frequency to 3 or 4 consecutive days covering distances up to 22k. I am now following a "proper" 1/2 marathon training program. I think the best option is just to do what feels comfortable. I guess it just depends on what you are trying to achieve, just to improve general fitness and loose weight or train for an event, the main thing is to enjoy it !

all the best
smithy

·
Registered
147 Posts
Steve87 said:
Hi all,

I am new to running, can manage about a mile, but I am tired afterwards. Legs dont ache, and after a little breather after finishing the run I feel fine. Am i okay to do this every morning, or should I be leaving a day in between each run?

Thanks
It is imperitive to have rest days.

Whe you work any type of muscle hard you get microscopic tears in the muscle fibre. When this repairs it repairs stronger.....you must have rest days to help this.

All heavy duty trainers have rest days. I currently have 2 a week.

·
Registered
16,463 Posts
ah the old rest day discusion.

All those for stand to the left. Those against stand to the right.

Personally I go with how I feel. Tuesday is an enforced rest day as I have other commitments. The rest of the time I run daily unless my legs ache or my ankles hurt which indicates I am overdoing it. I then take a day of and return refreshed the following day.

Only you know what works for you.

·
Registered
147 Posts
Hrun said: