Runners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok,go easy as im new to running[and the forum],so if this question seems a little dumb then as i said.............go easy[please]

I just wondered if anyone could tell me the best method of measuring my distance. I understand it would be easy enough if i was running on road routes but ive just been running random trail/off road routes.

Thanks in advance:cool:

·
Registered
3,059 Posts
A lot of people use www.mapmyrun.com.

This is ok so long as the trails you're running on can be picked up by the Google imagery that this programme uses (You basically trace your route onto a satellite image of the area that you've run on). Problems arise when you run through woodland and you're then unable to see the surface features.
Give it a go.

You'll find that quite a few runners now use sat-nav watches which also compute all manner of techno info (heart-rate/calories burned etc...). But obviously it's up to you if you want to fork out the cash for something like that. ;)

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. I'd guessed that there would be some high-tech gadgets out there for the required job. Im actually training for the Navy at present so knowing my distance is essential as i'll be timed on a set distance for my fitness test.

So,thanks again. I'll give it a go!:d

·
Registered
3,059 Posts
tHe_fRoNt said:
Thanks for the reply. I'd guessed that there would be some high-tech gadgets out there for the required job. Im actually training for the Navy at present so knowing my distance is essential as i'll be timed on a set distance for my fitness test.

So,thanks again. I'll give it a go!:d

Good luck with that! View attachment 483

·
Banned
2,297 Posts
You can get a sat nav watch in pc world for £99.99 or at least you could .Or the usual ebay and the likes!

Good luck with your navy career;)

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6