Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Since I started training for my first 10K and consequently doing alot more road work than usual, I have been getting pain just below my inner calf on both legs. The pain seems to be in the area directly below the calf and above the ankle joint. The first time I really noticed it was after a fairly quick (for me anyway) 3.5 mile run and I could barely stand up afterwards .... it did ease off with stretching though but didn't disapear completely. Since then (around 2 weeks or so) the pain has been there pretty much continually in varying degrees of discomfort. I initially thought it was muscle strain but it hasn't improved at all. I had ruled out shin splints to begin with because it doesn't feel like the shin itself thats causing the pain, but having just read an article on the subject I'm now wondering whether it could be the case after all.

Any advice anyone could give me would be fab ...... my race is on Sunday and I really want to do it but am now not sure whether its wise to do so! :(

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
Sounds painful.
Shin splints aren't funny...not sure that is what you have but sounds like it might be.
Only real "cure" I believe is rest I'm afraid.

Have to say though I'd still do the race on Sunday if it was me..'cos I don't follow my advice!!

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Steve,

I'm not very good at taking my own advice either! :p

I've still carried on training and the pain has never been as bad as it was on that first day but I just assumed it was muscle strain. Maybe I should just ice pack it before the race .... I don't want to put myself out of action though ..... I've already had that once this year with a knee injury!

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
Ice will help I'm sure.