Runners Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Administrator
6,618 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On Saturday, as part of my 1/2 marathon training, I did a 2 hour run. I managed to do the 2 hours without stopping and I clocked up 11 miles. I was really pleased with myself, back when I started training in January I couldnt have even thought about running non-stop for 2 hours!

Anyway, yesterday I was meant to do a slow 20min run but to be honest my body was saying no so I gave it a rest but I was walking around on the beach most of the day so I did get a bit of excercise.

Yesterday afternoon the top of my left foot started to get really sore, it feels like the muscle to my big toe. When I rest it it doesnt hurt but within 2 or 3 minutes of walking on it, it starts to hurt again. Not sure what has caused this as its comes from nowhere....I went to the gym this morning and did 20mins on the bikes and no pain, did 10mins on the crosstrainer and no pain, walk on it for 5 mins and the pain is there again.

Any ideas? There is no bruising that I can see and no swelling.

O.

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
I can't help with the injury as such but well done on your 2 hour run.

Increasing your mileage will of course have some impact upon your body so it should come as no surprise that you have picked up some kind of soreness...it will probably pass, as long as you don't do too much over next few days..if not perhaps see a fizz.

·
Administrator
6,618 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ye, I expected some aches and pains after the run but this feels more than just "after running" pains. I could be worrying about nothing.

I will be taking it easy for the next couple of days just to see if it subsides.

O.

·
Administrator
13,089 Posts