Runners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,
I'm in need of a bit of advice, more to rest my mind than anything else. I have been running for a couple of years but I'm new to racing, actually I have done one race last year which was the Leeds 10k. As I live in Bradford it wasn't much trouble getting to the race, infact my brother dropped my girlfriend and me near the starting line and while I did the race my girlfriend took care of my bag, keys, wallet etc.
I will be doing the Great North Run this year, it's at least a two hour drive to get there and I will be most likely going by myself. I'm not sure whether to sort out accommodation and get there a day or so early or drive up on the day.
My other concern is that as I've mentioned I am new to racing and I'm unsure of the procedures of the race, at the Leeds 10k you just turned up and was directed to different pens depending on your expected time and then after the race you was directed to where you collected your goody bag and t-shirt, all very straight forward. I'm not sure what to expect with the Great North Run with it being such a big race, will it be the same kind of procedure as the Leeds 10k ?. I understand there is somewhere you can leave your baggage and pick it up at the finish. how does this work?
Any advice, pointers would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
13,089 Posts
I've never done the GNR Adey, but i'd imagine it'll be a very simple procedure - after all there will be masses of people who've never raced before at all, so certainly don't worry yourself over that!