Runners Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear Friends

Thanks to all of you who replied to my last post and am grateful. AS you know I am a beginner and am 64 plus years younger. I need to know the following.

1. At the moment I am running 8 miles three times a week and every Sunday I walk 5 miles at medium paces in the mornings. I want to run 9 miles next week and keep increasing one mile once a week. Am I going to do too much. I Intend to do half a marathon in Feb.07 and need to reach a Taget of 14 miles.
2. My Target time for half a Marathon is between 2.5 to 2.75hrs.
3. If I am able to do this than what proportion of weekly mileage should I increase without getting injured?! As I want to do the Flora Marathon.
4. I was unlucky and did not get an entry, but intend to speak to few of my friends/and community leaders and hope to raise £1500 for the charity to get a place.

AS said previously, I do Yoga and Pranayams and walking and this does keep me in good health. should I do any thing besides these!!! Weight training to build up my strength and stamina?
WISH YOU ALL MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY and PROSPEROUS NEW YEAR AND GOOD HEALTH.
Dhiru

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Dear All

I would be grateful for your sugggestions for my previous post which is as under:

Regards
Dhiru

Dear Friends

Thanks to all of you who replied to my last post and am grateful. AS you know I am a beginner and am 64 plus years younger. I need to know the following.

1. At the moment I am running 8 miles three times a week and every Sunday I walk 5 miles at medium paces in the mornings. I want to run 9 miles next week and keep increasing one mile once a week. Am I going to do too much. I Intend to do half a marathon in Feb.07 and need to reach a Taget of 14 miles.
3. If I am able to do this than what proportion of weekly mileage should I increase without getting injured?! As I want to do the Flora Marathon.