Runners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Morning all

Anyone have any advice on the Garmin Forerunner 50?

Pretty cheap in price, looks good but does it live up to expectations? I am currently using the Nike+ Sportband and while it looks good I am now beginning to wonder about its accuracy. Never have the same run distance information.

I am no pro at running, only started last November so don't want anything flashy or expensive. Just something to record distance etc.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers

Gary

·
Registered
9,640 Posts
Have you tried using mapmyrun.co.uk you wouldn't need to buy anything then?

or if you are insisting the garmin 305 is a wicked piece of kit and I believe it has come down quite a bit in price due to the 405 being released.

:d

·
Registered
52 Posts
Hi Gary, can't say much on the Garmin 50 never had one, but I recently upgraded my 101 to a 205. If your not bothered about pc connectivity the 101 is fine for basic gps I had mine for a couple of years and I think you might pick up one off fleabay for the £50 mark!:d

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi guys

Thanks for the comments.

Yes, I started out using mymaprun and still do now and then. I take it the distances there are accurate? I like gadgets and stuff but not desperate to get a Garmin yet. Will keep watching the pricing of the other items too.

Thanks again.

Cheers

Gary

·
Registered
16,463 Posts
Is not the Garmin 50 a footpod based system the same as the sportsband. If so there is no reason for it to be any more accurate.

How far out are you? Mine is about 40 yards over 5k. I assume mapmyrun is a line based drawing thing. A few yards here and there if it cuts a corner or you did and the inaccuracies add up.

How accurate do you need to record? Over 100m I can see the need. But over a 10k training run I just run a bit over to make sure I have covered the distance.

·
Registered
16,463 Posts