Runners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

Just wondering if anyone can offer any 'pearls' for my training for the Great North Run. I have been jogging on and off for a few years now and have completed 2 x 10k runs so I'm looking forward to the challenge of the half marathon. I'm on week 7 of a 12 week 'novice' training plan I got off some webiste or other. The plan incorpoarates 3 runs a week (one long one) and 2 cross-training sessions. My cross training is kick-boxing (a little unusual I know but its an existing hobby) and I do a bit of yoga here and there too. At the moment my two shorter runs are 4.5 miles and my next long run will be 8 miles. Do you think I will be ready in time or should I swap one of my cross training sessions for another run? I just had to take a week off because of a back spasm/muscle weakness so I am also weary of further injury/time off too; do you think 2 rest days is enough?

Any help from Great North veterans, or anyone really, would be great. Also, any other miscellaneous tips specific to a first time Great North Runner would be welcome!

Thanks!

·
Registered
419 Posts
I'm not an expert but my personal opinion would be.......

Good news - you are doing enough! And I think 2 rest days (plus 2 cross training days) sounds like a good mix!

Just make sure you get the long runs up nearer the race distance before the day - just keep following the plan for how long they should be.

Out of interest, what are you doing on your shorter runs? Are they faster than your long run? Are you doing something technical like hills or intervals? Or are they similar to your long run, only shorter in length?