Runners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

i've had a pain in the top of my leg in the groin area for the past few weeks.It hurts when i put my weight on that leg or when i start walking but after a few steps the pain goes.Which is why i've carried on running since i've had it but i had to stop running half a mile into a jog tonight because the pain wouldn't go and it felt weak in that area.I use Brooks Adrenaline 7 trainers with Dr.Foot insoles.Has anybody else had this?If so any advice please ;)

Cheers Gaz

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
Hi Gaz

I'm no expert, but this sounds like a damaged muscle to me. Have you tried giving it a couple of weeks' solid rest? I would suggest you see a physio.

The last time I did something similar I was told, firmly, to rest it "before" I aggravate it next time :p

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
I'd certainly advise rest as a first cause of action (easier said then done I know), and then it sounds like a visit to a Physio like Katten suggests would be a good second.

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
Groin injury..........................

Mine is only just...touches wooden head...going after having had sports fizz and doing less running for quite some time. When I did run injured....not clever thing to do I ran at a slower pace and didn't go as far as I would have liked.

Answer therefore seems to be see a fizz, do some stretches and rest.

·
Registered
23 Posts
I don't know what your specific injury is ,but I have had a hip adductor problem for some time now.
The physio said that it is the Pectineus muscle which is tight and goes into spasm.
Like you, it goes when I start running/ walking.
Stretching really helps it to ease off. But if I am sitting for a while, it goes tight and is sore for a bit.
I rested until I was pain free, but it came back when I started running again.
It is something that I have just got to live with.
Regular stretching is the only thing that really works for me.