Runners Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bath half is next week, I was offered the chance of running a 3rd lap to make it upto 18 ish miles (that is what my training run should be that Sunday). I've declined this and fancy just running the 13, get a time etc. The question is this ......

Do I really try and run the quickest I can bearing in mind I still have 1 week of 'peak' marathon training left after the race. Or take it steady and try and beat the 2hr mark which is something I have never done before ?

·
Banned
2,297 Posts
Don't quite know what to advise Granty other than to say whatever you do don't go off too fast It reallly will make a difference to your finishing time .

I try to pick off runners in front of me ie catch them gradualy sit on their shoulder then pass them .It worked a charm for me last sunday .

Ok there were 129 people who finished ahead of me But from about mile six only one runner passed me That gives you a great feeling .

Good luck with the half

Cheriton

·
Registered
3,495 Posts
Go for that sub 2 hour Granty.

It will be a fantastic condfidence boost.

·
Registered
10,185 Posts
I would suggest running steady, especially as you still have some more marathon training to do.

Last year, I ran the Glasgow half as part of my marathon training - I took it steady all the way round and felt that I could have ran an extra mile or two if I had pushed myself. I managed to set a PB as well.

·
Registered
6,493 Posts
Granty... last weekend my FLM schedule (3.30) had me running a fast half marathon, saying to aim for 1.37.
I actually did 1.36.02 so I was pleased :)

So on that basis I would suggest you go for it. Just be careful for the first few miles, don't go off too quick...pick up the pace gradually

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
Discussion Starter #6