Runners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Right, basically I'm just after some thoughts here.

I'm new to this running lark and had been massively enjoying it. However, I developed a medial strain in my left leg - basically one of the forms of shin splints apparently. I've already missed two weeks of training and I'm likely to be out for another two - which is gutting as I was genuinely starting to enjoy it as my stamina improved.

So, getting to the point, here's my question. When I stopped running I had just done my first 7 mile run and it took 58mins. That's about right for my pace I think, I'd also done 5 miles in around 45 mins the previous week.

Now, I really want to do my race (on the 3rd of March) in around 1hr45mins.

My physio has already warned me I will have to take things very easy when I do get back to running and I'm bound to have lost some stamina too.

So, is that target likely to be realistic? I know it ultimately depends on me - but as I mentioned, I'm very new to this game, so don't really know what kind of effect the injury will have and how quickly I'll be back to running properly.

Any help is well appreciated - and I'll stop now cos this post is getting very long!!:confused:

·
Registered
348 Posts
Hi Ron,

It's really hard to judge if your goal is realistic. If you are very new to running then you will have a very rapid improvement to start with, so if you've done 7 miles in 56 minutes already, it sounds very possible.

The advice I'd give is not to try and run as quick as you can every run - run easy most of the time especially if you are increasing distances. This should stop you getting injured.

Once you got a month under your belt without reaction I'd build a stamina specific training session into your program to help you prepare for the 1/2 marathon while still increasing your long run to up your endurance.

·
Registered
6,493 Posts
Ron... chill!