Runners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hallo,

My name is Viv, I am totally new to running.

I would appreciate some advice as to how best to build up training. I don't have much time on my hands, so I tend, at the moment, to run more days, than others, which I don't feel is helping me build up fitness adquately.

Any advice appreciated. :)

·
Premium Member
13,089 Posts
Hi Viv! Welcome to the forum!!! :)

What kind of running are you doing at the moment? (i.e. how far and and often - if I may be so cheeky as to ask!) From that I'm sure plenty of people will be able to give you all the advice you could ever need :)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
At the moment, it's just half a mile about 3 times a week, but I'd like to do a lot better, and eventually enter a race of some kind :)

·
Registered
131 Posts
welcome viv,

having been at the same stage as yourself when i started about 2 years ago, i would say that you should just try and build up your distance until you are running for a few miles at a time. Regularly raising the distance by small incrememnts worked best for me.

next time you are out why not try to go a few hundred yards further? you'll find that your endurance rises quite quickly if you concentrate on small achieveable increases.

good luck

·
Registered
116 Posts
Hi Viv

Welcome to the site.

I was doing 1.5 mile runs just over two years ago and now run 5 miles twice a week and hoping to increase that with the advice I have taken from the good people on here. Just push it that little further week by week and you will be surprised what you can achieve in a short time.

Good luck...

·
Premium Member
6,618 Posts
Hi Viv,
Welcome to the forum!
I can't anything more than what has already been said, just enjoy your runs going a little bit further each week. Before you know it you will be running miles without thinking :)

O.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #8