Runners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
In a moment of madness my fiance and I signed up for this years Great North Run in an attempt to get fit and be nice and slim for our wedding next year. I have never run before nor played sports so I am super unfit. We were given a 16 week beginners training guide by the GNR people which we started yesterday. Our first task was to run gently for 10 minutes. I had to stop after 2 which really shocked me!! I kept at it but ended up only being able to run for a minute at a time before needing a rest. Given my disastrous start, am I kidding myself to believe I will be able to attempt a half a marathon on 30th September?
Looking forward to hearing your views
Sinead x

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
Welcome to RF where we are all crazy!

You have given yourself a bit of a task if you are a complete novice BUT you certainly have enough time to get fit enough to do GNR.

You need to take things nice and easy to start with...build up slowly and don't go too fast. If you have to stop and walk for a bit then so be it.

Try to find a park to run in so you can run on grass so as to lessen the impact on your knees.

Visit a proper running sports shop to get yourself fitted running shoes that are right for you. The cost is worth it in the long run...excuse the pun!

Once you have got used to running and are able to run without stopping for say 30mins try to find a local running, not athletic, club to join. You could approach a club earlier of course but most new runners seem to want be able to run first before joining a club.

Try to keep to the schedule but don't get fixated by it. If you have to miss a run don't worry...we all miss training sessions every now and then.

Tell your mates/family you are doing the GNR.....that'll get you out training!

Finally, for now, keep posting here on a regular basis...we'll keep you going!!

All the best.

·
Registered
3,190 Posts