Runners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts
A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! :) I stumbled across this forum quite by accident whilst browsing for some past results and immediately liked the friendly atmosphere. So after a disappointing 6 mile road race this morning I thought I'd join as I think being a member of a running forum is sure to inspire and encourage, what with me becoming a little half hearted with it all as of late.

I've been running since late 1994, primarily to lose weight and be more healthy but soon got into the competitive side of things. I've always been dogged by setbacks, i.e. illness and injury just as I'm getting to some sort of form but I always try to bounce back undeterred.

A major influence is my Dad who was a top club runner in the 1980's who even recently was scooping prizes in the V50 and V55 categories.

My proudest running moment was doing the 2006 Bramley 20 mile road race where I ran 1:56 coming 9th and taking the team prize back up north. My biggest disaster was the 2006 London Marathon where I fell at 18 miles, smashing my knees and splitting my elbow resulting in lots of blood and retiring from the race.

I'm 35, married with two daughters and live just outside Manchester.

·
Banned
2,297 Posts
WELCOME TO THE FORUM !!

It's good to have you on board !

How about getting dad on the forum his experience would be appreciated!

Take it easy;)

A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello Cheriton, thanks for the reply; I'd ask him to have a look but he's a reluctant user of the internet, only using it to buy things and rarely send emails. He's also anti social! :d

A.

·
Registered
3,495 Posts
Welcome Andrew.

There are certainly some impessive times in your profile.

·
Premium Member
13,089 Posts
Hi! As Dave says, certainly an impressive list of PB's to your name - how do they compare to current performance levels? (I mean are the PB's recent or years ago...?)