Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to running! I'm Helen, 22 and I play tenpin bowling at an international level. I've taken up running partly to keep in shape for that, partly to lose a bit of weight and keep healthy and partly to relieve stress. So far, I've dropped from a size 16 to a 14, which has been enough to keep me interested!

I did the City of London Race for Life at the start of June and completed it in 33 minutes, which I know doesn't sound fantastic, but I was really pleased as I did hardly any training and stupidly had nothing to eat that morning. I've just entered a 10k at the end of September and the aim is to complete it in under an hour.

I've just treated myself to a pair of proper running shoes rather than my old trainers and I'm happy with them - but what's the best way to wear them in? I'm getting pretty bad blisters at the moment and so far I haven't been able to do more than a couple of KM in them as my feet just start screaming. Would talcolm powdering my feet help?

When I went to the running shop, the guy said that my arches were starting to collapse - I knew this anyway and he commented on the fact I have pretty delicate ankles which rotate a lot when I run. What is the best way to give them a bit of extra support? I've also suffered tendonitis in the past.

Also, another question - sorry! Where is the best place to buy sports bras? I'm very busty and find it a nightmare!

Thanks all!

·
Registered
9,640 Posts
Hi Helsie

Welcome to RF, good for you for entering another race.

I don't suffer with blister too much but others on hear swear by compeed, so it might be worth ago.

sweatshop might be a good start for sports bra's especially if you want to try them on, check out their website for store locations, or if you don't mind buying online, try again sweatshop.co.uk, startfitness.co.uk or lessbounce.co.uk.

Hope all this helps and keep us posted on your progress.

TT

·