Runners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am new to running (i did give it ago last year but got no support)

I've got the Zest beginners guide to running and want to follow that plan but i'm concerned about the effects running on roads/pavemnets will have on my joints/bones.

I really want to do this to increase my energy, help my depression and help me shift some weight.

em x

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
Welcome aboard!!

Running will help you with your energy levels, mood and weight loss but it is important to take it easy and not do too much too soon....you don't want to get an inury or do so much that you ache and consequently lose enthusiasm.

Road running can impact upon your joints so mix road running with running on tracks/grass/sand/treadmills.

Get a proper pair of running shoes and if you can and when you feel able find a running club to join.

All the best.

·
Registered
1,618 Posts
Hi Mum2many

I'm a newbie to this forum, and to running. I've been doing the Zest beginners plan, now on week 8. I've found it extremely tough some weeks, so don't worry if you need to go a bit more slowly than they suggest - I've stuck at it as I have a deadline, a 5km run that I want to actually run (well, jog gently), but if I hadn't, I'd have taken it a little bit more slowly (an extra week or two running 2 mins before moving up to 3, for example).

I've been doing 2/3 of the training on treadmills, but getting outside for one session a week and I did find that the tarmac took its toll on my shins. I'm lucky in that I live in a very small town (and right on the edge of it), so I quickly switched to running round a field and now on to the (packed mud) canal towpath. The softer surface has definitely been kinder to my legs, so if you have somewhere you can run in the countryside or just a park, then give that a go if you can.