Runners Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Right im a newbie,

My names Stacka....its a nick name obviously. Dont ask he he. Im 24 from the midlands, erm sounds like blind date.... youd need to be blind to go out on a date with me actually!!!

Im currently training for the Royal Marines selection which i have in October, and i really need to sort out this running lark. I love my motorbikes, and my boxing, and anything else vaguely chalenging

Im sure this has been over done, so many opologies.....but!

Selection has a 3 mile run, 1.5 miles as a troop in a 12min pace, the second is best effort. And i mean best effort i need to be achieving around a 9min 15.

Before this run there is a warm up, and the term warm up is a bit misleading...it should read Marine warm up, becasue by the end of the warm up i was sucking air in from china.

So..............How do i best train for this?

Stacka

·
Registered
16,463 Posts
Run.

Seriously goggle training sessions, find one that suits and stick to it. There are plenty of methods that take you from 0 to 5K in five weeks.

You might find it a bit quiet in here at weekends. Most peeps seem to log in during the week instead of working :p

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
cheers,

i do run alot, but i just cant crack speed. I probly run a fair 6 miles 5 days a week.
But im unsure how improve the speed.

Yeah it is a bit quite here, its my rest day from my ragime so im laying on the sofa partaking in my favourite past time.............EATING!

·
Registered
1,939 Posts
Hiya Stacka and welcome :) I'm tryin to build my speed up to, and I'm doing this by doing hill work, just hope it works:d

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
dimple said:
Hiya Stacka and welcome :) I'm tryin to build my speed up to, and I'm doing this by doing hill work, just hope it works:d
Are you training for the marines too then?

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
dimple said: