Runners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone

Another newbie here. Been running a few weeks now and up to about 5 miles at the mo. Just signed up for a 10k on 6 July and am pretty nervous about it. The only thing I'm sure of is that I will be slllooooooowww and finish last but hey, I'll just be pleased to have finished it (if I finish it). Look forward to receiving lots of good advice from you guys.

LbL.x

·
Registered
9,640 Posts
Hi Loobyloo

Good luck with your race, the only advice I would give right now is enjoy it you will be on cloud nine when it's over.

Let us know how you get on.

Welcome by the way :d

TT

·
Registered
177 Posts
Hey Loobyloo welcome. If your running 5 miles already you be fine for a 10k race. As twinle toes says forget time just concentrate on finishing your get such a buzz from it. Look forward to seeing how you get on!

·
Banned
2,297 Posts
Welcome to the forum

Enjoy the race as has been said you're doing 5 miles already 10 k will be fine

If it's your first race best piece of advice i can give you is not to go off too fast .

You'll pay for it later .

People get caught up in the excitement of the day and go haring off only to blow up and end up going seriously backwards.

Whatever happens you'll be bound to learn something about yourself and your running .

Take it easy

Cheriton ;)

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
Welcome to the mad world of RF Loobyloo.

Best of luck for the 10k..sure it'll go fine!!

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Thanks for your good wishes everyone. Unfortunately my friend that was also doing the race has had to pull out which means I've had to pull out also. Never mind, will just keep enjoying the running and the good weather while it lasts !

·
Registered
353 Posts
Hello and welcome.....sounds like your just going great :)

·
Registered
105 Posts