Runners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm Jude, retired in 2004 to France, in the Dordogne. I turned 60 in February. I've been running on and off for 20 years, mainly to keep fit and to keep weight down. Also managed 2 half marathons. I got into writing a book last winter and running went out the window, now I'm paying for being so slothful! It seems that after 60 it's hard to get fit again if one has a lengthy period with no exercise. I try and run about 3 miles every day which takes me about 45 minutes – a lot slower than I used to be! I wonder if it's normal to tire more easily when in the upper age brackets? It 's far more difficult to shed weight! I guess determination is the key word. Maybe I should try longer distances? Are there any over 60's out there who can give me some advice on how to up my fitness? I'm 5' 9" and about 12st 7lbs with a large frame.
Many thanks
Jude:rolleyes:

·
Registered
4,962 Posts
I think you are doing well running 3 miles in 45 minutes every day, considering you have just got back into it. I don't know what it is like running as an over 60, but there are plenty of over 60s that do a lot of running successfully. It may feel difficult right now, but it always is when you start running, whatever age you are. If you're not injuring yourself, I would suggest you keep at it and it will get easier. Eventually you will lose any excess weight you have and the running will become easier as well. Good luck and don't give up :p

·
Registered
91 Posts