Runners Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help someone!

I have fallen victim to the dreaded shin splints-- again. I would consider myself a beginner runner. I have been running roughly 6 miles every day on and off for the past 2 years. But recently, I have formed a pretty solid streak. When I started two years ago I was running on some old shoes that offered me little support. I subsequently got stress fractures and shin splints. But when I got fitted for new shoes, all these problems subsided. However, I recently found myself suffering similar problems, so I went out and spent 250 US dollars on some new shoes and insoles. Unfortunately, these haven't solved the problem. I've tried everything known to man to try and solve the issue, but nothing seems to work. I stretch for more time than I am running, I roll my muscles before and after, I am careful not to increase my milage too quickly. Additionally I changed my style to run with a forwards-foot strike. I used to impact the ground more with my heels, and found myself getting injured as a result. I was hoping that someone out there would be able to spread some light on the subject. What am I doing wrong? I love running and really miss it, but it is simply too painful to run in my current condition. Are shin splints just a fact of life?

Yours sincerely, one ammeter runner called Matt

p.s. My shoes are Brooks Glycerin 19s.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Hi Matt, first of all - I feel your pain. I can tell you that shin pain has been a very regular issue I've suffered from in my almost 10yrs of running.

My opinion is that it is really important to accept shin splints for what it is - an overuse injury.