Runners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Just joined and after some advice please.

I'm 30, 308 pounds roughly (just under 22 stone) and have really let my body go the last few years.

I started a diet 2 weeks ago and was 317 pounds so is coming off.

I want to start running eventually but know i am too heavy just yet.

Does anybody have any advice on how much walking to do to start, how long for, how far and how many days?

Really grateful for anyone who can help.

Regards

Matt ;)

·
Registered
835 Posts
Hi immortal,

I started training (I deliberately avoid the word running!) just under a year ago initially to loose weight. I lost a lot to start with on the treadmill in the gym. My initial goal per session was 10 minutes constant exercise (be it walking or jogging). This soon changed to counting the calories I'd burn. The treadmill I use works out the calories burned and after a few weeks I had set myself a target each day to burn off the calories I am likely to eat for dinner that night.

I have found that to be an excellent way of losing weight as you can have a big meal provided that you do the exercise. Don’t do the exercise and you have to go light on the food. By following that rule you soon realise that exercise is the key to weight loss.

I also found out using the calorie calculator on the tread mill that you burn them off more quickly by walking up hill (as steep as possible) than jogging on the flat. This will save the knees while you are building up the legs muscles (and losing the weight!)

I started counting the food calories per meal but I didn't count any fruit I ate between meals (I have since become addicted to oranges!) I also don't count alcohol :d, but then again, although a regular drinker, it is not in great quantities (I stick to the recommended units...... mostly :embarrassed: )