Runners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

My name is Carl, I'm new to all of this running malarkey, but thought I'd give it a go.

I play rugby at grassroots level and also train at taekwon-do.

Happy running.
Carl

·
Registered
123 Posts
welcome
You will find lots of friendly people and advice here. Good luck with the running. What belt are you at taekwon-do? my son has been doing it for just over a year and has a yellow belt with a green tag 7th cup i think.

·
Registered
5,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Cheers for the welcomes.

I am a 1st Dan at ITF TKD - I'm aiming for 2nd Dan this Autumn. Good luck to your son :) What assiociation does he train with?

·
Registered
5,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
What are the chances - I also train with PUMA! But in Nottinghamshire - with Mr Bradshaw.

I may well see you about at competitions and gradings!

·
Registered
5,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Long time, no post!

So I thought I'd ressurect my post here, rather than creating a new thread.

I've been plagued with injuries over the last year or so and have just started to be able to jog again.

Last year, I had a persistant back problem, so couldn't run much. This May, I ruptured my medial collateral ligament in my left knee and couldn't do anything at all for 3 months. I started to go jogging again in September, did a couple of weeks - starting with a 2 mile run twice in the first week. Then did a 3.5 mile run 3 times per week - started to enjoy it again.

Then 3 fat blokes landed on me at rugby. Cue grade 2 sternoclavicular joint sprain, grade 1 acromioclavicular joint sprain, torn trapezius, pulled deltoid and pulled pectoral and lots of swearing.

So, Saturday was my return to rugby - which we won. Yesterday was my return to jogging - 5.5 miles around Derby City. Aching legs, but feeling good.