Runners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, here I am - a virgin runner !! I decided as many people do, that its a new year and time for a new start!!

To show my determinaion and to have a target to reach I, along with many of the lovely people I work with, have entered the Plymouth Half Marathon! It's a long shot, but as long as I complete it, on the same day I start it, I'll be happy!!!!

Been out pounding the streets walking / jogging and bonding with my trainers about half a dozen times now - it's hard work for a girlie who has a sit down job, but persevere I will!

Just want to say hello to anyone who is in the same boat, and perhaps appreciate what I'm going through!

Any helpful hints and tips would be much appreciated.... !!

H x

·
Registered
1,623 Posts
hey :) I'm a relative newbie here, too. I used to run quite a lot and wanted to get back in to the swing of things, thought being around like minded people - if only by proxy - would help me out! Do persevere, it's all worth it, I only ran my first real event in October and it was such a buzz! Hopefully the endorphins are keeping you motivated! :) Best of luck with all your running...
Ed

·
Registered
9,640 Posts
Hello littlemissporter Welcome to the forum, you will get loads of great advice here aswell as friendly banter.

I did my first 1/2 marathon last year, and on most of my long runs was wondering why the hell I was doing it, I did have some real demons to overcome, but come race day I had the best time thoroughly enjoyed the day, the buzz afterwards was great.

The other great thing you are doing is running with others as you will all support each other, especially at times when your finding it hard.

You will have runs where you find it harder than others but just dig in because at the end you will be pleased with your effort.

Best of luck and try and enjoy it as much as possible, you will be amazed how quickly your fitness improves.

Twinks :d

·