Runners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I'm a university student who took up running 3 months ago as cross-training for football and badminton; I'm quite surprised I've kept it up this long (especially through Christmas) because I'd usually quit a couple of weeks after the moment of "resolution". It's happened that way in the past.

Anyway, even though I'm in no way feeling stale from it I worry that I may do in the future (with the advent of graduation, job, moving house, end of sports seasons etc), and I'd like to prevent this under the guidance of others, because the strides I've made so far have been well worth it and I don't want it all to amount to nothing.

I can't bring much knowledge to the forum, but hopefully a bit of friendliness!

·
Registered
3,190 Posts
Important thing is not to try and do too much too soon otherwise you can easily get discouraged. Are there any races you would like to aim for - they are great for motivation as is joining a local running club.

I took up running a year ago to enter a 5k - I honestly didn't think I would love it this much and today I completed my first 10 mile race.

·
Registered
9,640 Posts
Hi

Welcome to the forum, like Steady definitely set some race targets, you won't regret it, also although I am not part of one running clubs will also be a great help and Steve will be able to advise you on that better than me, Steve is the one at the top of the posters board!!!

·
Registered
20,654 Posts
twinkle toes said:
Hi

Welcome to the forum, like Steady definitely set some race targets, you won't regret it, also although I am not part of one running clubs will also be a great help and Steve will be able to advise you on that better than me, Steve is the one at the top of the posters board!!!

Advertising my services for free...that's what I like!!:d

Welcome Aleik,